The Shore House Story
From its early days as a private home to its stint as a speakeasy, learn the fascinating history of The Shore House.
Built in 1901, the front building that is today our Narragansett, RI inn served as the private residence of R. James Sullivan and came to be known as the Youghal Cottage. Nine bedrooms and a small chapel were located on the second and third floors. The second floor was used by the owners and the third for the maids and butlers.
In the early twenties, our beachfront property became a speakeasy where the vacationing elite would party ‘til the early morning hours. Secret passageways are located in the basement of our historic inn and under the staircase to the second floor. The bedrooms on the second floor were transformed into small gambling rooms where roulette, black jack and craps were the late-night entertainment.
As years passed, the property was known by several names including Narragansett Social Club, Neptune Motor Inn and Pier House Inn.
Major renovations have taken place since including an addition of an ocean front courtyard cafe, a full-scale restaurant & bar Turtle Soup Restaurant.
Today, The Shore House boasts a unique campus of three unique properties, which come together as a single, cohesive inn. Select from the Shore House at the Main Inn, the Shore Cottages, with their accessible accommodations, or the Oceanside Building, with their patios and decks.